Summer Movie Nights: Coco Before Chanel

Every summer I give myself a list of movies I need to watch or books I need to read when I have even the briefest moments of spare time. I’m still working on the movie list, but I managed to cross off one from last year: Coco Before Chanel.

Coco Before Chanel

It was gorgeously filmed, with Audrey Tautou (I knew her from The DaVinci Code) playing a perfectly young Coco Chanel. I have to say it was a bit bittersweet, and my feelings for the character were mixed; she’s a natural liar and a bit snarky at times, but the tragedies she faces almost make up for it.

The film is in French, with English subtitles, which I loved since I’m attempting to learn and all.

I wouldn’t recommend for a date night movie, since I can think of very few guys that would be willing to sit through a French movie about the early life of one of the world’s most iconic fashion designers. But, if you feel like fixing yourself some pasta and a glass of red wine and a bowl of gelato and sitting down to have a movie date for yourself, four stars!

I’m sure there will be many more of these to come, so bear with me, and hopefully you’ll find this helpful to cure any summertime boredom.

cheers!

temp

Leave a Reply

